My Amy

I am a therapist and all my life very active, swimmer, runner and teacher for thirty years, saying that when I was hiking and was struggling breathing ,swollen legs and fatigue I saw my doctor as I. Had planned a three week trip to Bali. I was checked and told to come back as soon as I returned. I did and started the long tests at first it was determined I had chronic kidney disease. My Doctor was not satisfied and said their must be a reason. We did a kidney biopsy and AI amyloid. I had NO idea what it was so got on the computer and was to say the least shocked.
Since feb first I have been to mayo clinic and Stanford. Since I live on the central coast of Ca. And I love the team at Stanford I have chosen Togo their. I have a great team in San Luis Obispo. I get my chemo here. For seven months I was very, very,sick. I was on cytoxin, velcade, dexamethasone heavy doses. A friend and nurse said I was “circling the drain” many times in those months. In July Stanford team said I was not making any new Amyloids and can be on remission. So treatment is Velcade. Everyother week. I’m still working as an Aquatic therapist and getting a bit stronger. My life has really changed, I have had to reach out to family and friends for help, that’s had for an independent 76 year old “healthy” women.
Please keep me informed of your progress,by the way Amy is In My kidneys, heart, gut, tongue and worst of all my skin(I itch) all the time!.

Sincerely,Kay heaton

Kay,

I know how you feel. I was an active 50-year-old--100 mile bike rides, workout classes where I kept up with the 30-year-olds, active vacations of hiking, white water rafting, skiing and surfing. I was diagnosed in February after noticing an enlarged liver, edema in my legs and ankles, and abdominal bloating that started in October of last year. Like you, I was shocked at what I read on the internet (not hack sites but the peer reviewed medical journals) about prognosis.